WCF VS. 3FU

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bryan:
The reason I prefer the Belgic Confession, the Heidelberg Catechism, and the Canons of Dordt, is that I have a deep heritage in the Dutch Reformed setting. They don't say as much technically; in fact they say less in that respect. But for me they are fuller and more personal, and therefore say more to me that way.

I am new to the Westminster Standards. Give it time, and I will say the same for them. I don't prefer the one over the other for doctrinal reasons.

Where many like to defend the Christian faith with their apologetic methods, my very favourite way is by Belgic Confession, arts. I and II. I cannot imagine being without them for instruction. That's one reason, at least.

Heritage usually is the cause.

I personally love them all, especially the WCF and the Canons of Dordt. (I may even do my disseration as a commentary or exposition of Dordt.)

I think they differ only in emphasis. I prefer the WCF because it is more precise in it's terms than the 3 Forms. But the 3 forms do have a personal/devotional feel to them that I find refreshing. Plus I love the way the Heidelburg Catechism really sets out the proper use of the law for the believer in much clearly terms than I think WCF does. But that's just my opinion...

Puritan Sailor

I admit, even though I am a PCA guy and I plan on perhaps being ordained in the PCA one day, I am more favorable toward the 3FU than the Westminster Standards, and in particular, I LOVE the Heidelberg Catechism. I even changed my AOL instant messenger screen name in honor of Heidelberg. Send me a message sometime (HeidelbergCQ1). :cool:

To be honest, I think way too much is made of the differences and distinctions between WCF and 3 Forms. Anyone who believes that the WCF is "non-pastoral" and should be more like the 3FU should read WCF 3.8. And there are portions of the 3FU that are precise and technical.