Westminster Seminary California

Status
Not open for further replies.

lightandheat

Puritan Board Freshman
Two questions:

1) For those who currently attending or are now alumni: your thoughts on WSCal?
2) Any advice on how to live as a seminary student in California with the cost of living so high?

Blessings,
Danny

Hi Danny,

I am an alumnus but I'll address question #2.

It's quite manageable. I just looked at a database and from 1982-2005 no less than 685 students did it.

Some costs are proportionately higher (rent and fuel) but wages are also higher to compensate so it's like stepping into a stream.

Some costs are lower (heating/ac). For example, if one lives within a mile or two of campus, one can walk or bicycle 12 months a year. That's not possible many other places. For much of the year one doesn't really need heating or AC. Some foods are less expensive here. When I was a student here the supermarkets used double and triple coupons and we actually made money a few times at the market. She still uses coupons faithfully.

You should contact the seminary's financial aid coordinator, whom I know very well. She's a genius at saving money. About 50% of our students receive student loans. Many of our students receive financial support from their congregations. When I was a student here in the early-mid 80s my (then) denomination, the Reformed Church in the US, paid my tuition and gave me a little book money. We had no children so my blessed wife worked as a Christian school teacher so we didn't have to borrow.

Many students now stretch their MDiv program to four years. This allows them to take fewer hours and to absorb more of the material. Some work part time and combine that with financial aid from WSC, their congregation or some other source (family, friends, supporters).