What covenant was the people under from Adam to Abraham?

Status
Not open for further replies.

truthman1972

Inactive User
I am somewhat new to Covenant Theo. and trying to work through the doctrine and was wondering if I could get some help?

My question is what covenant were the people under after the fall and before Abraham? It seems simple enough to say they were of course under grace as is the way all men are saved, but did or did not the covenant need to be established with someone for it to be ratified as was the case with Abraham?

The Cov. of Grace is the outworking of the Covenant of Redemption between the Father and Son which concerns election and predestination. Anyone who believed in God was brought into this covenant from Adam to Abraham and beyond.

Isn't there a bit of a messianic promise given in the fall? The seed of woman/seed of the serpent conflict is described. The Covenant of Grace begins to be worked out corresponding with the fall of man I think you are correct to say "they were of course under grace." The covenant is described and adorned further in Abraham's covenant, it does not start there.

From Adam to Noah the people were under the Adamic Covenant (which God established with Adam post-fall).

From Noah to Abraham, they were under the Noahic Covenant (which God established with Noah after Noah and his family came out of the ark. The rainbow was given to us as a sign of this covenant).

Of course, both the Adamic covenant and the Noahic covenant are administrations of the covenant of grace which stretches from creation to the second coming.

I good book on covenant theology is "The Christ of the Covenants" by O. Palmer Robertson. I found it to be very helpful in understanding covenant theology, particularly the OT covenants.

PS - Welcome to the board! :welcome: