When did Adam and Eve sin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

duke

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello,

I am currently studying through the first 11 chapters of Genesis with the Bible Class of young people I teach.

We are coming to Genesis chapter 3 next week. I have a question mostly regarding the interpreatation of events leading up to the eating of the fruit. Most commentators seem to suggest something like the following from John Currid's commentary on Genesis (Vol 1.) published by Evangelical Press:

page 116 "Humanity's descent into sin was not the result of a mere bite into a fruit - but rather it was a complex process of wilful disobedience and action"

and page 119 commenting on 3:6 "This play on words underscores the woman's fallen state in the sense that her lust for the tree is seen as 'good' in her eyes."

Dr Currid seems to suggest that the woman was fallen BEFORE she took the fruit and ate.

So did Eve sin BEFORE eating the fruit? If so when was the fall? If not then how would you explain the fact that many commentators seem to suggest lust and pride and twisting of God's word all before the actual eating of the fruit?

Was there more to God's command in 2:16-17?

Hope you can help.

Duke.

I think you have to make a disctinction between the temptation and the sin. Adam and Eve were tempted, and wrestling with that temptation is not sin. But once you decide to give in, then you have sinned. It's important not to rest so much on speculation about man in the garden. There's so much we don't know. I think it's better to leave it where the WSC leaves it;

Q. 15. What was the sin whereby our first parents fell from the estate wherein they were created?
A. The sin whereby our first parents fell from the estate wherein they were created, was their eating the forbidden fruit.