When Did You Buy Your First Bible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookslover

Puritan Board Doctor
Let's see how many remember:

When did you buy your first Bible with your own money? How old were you? What translation did you buy? How did you get the money? Do you remember where you bought it? Do you still have it?

I was 17, a new Christian and I went to my local bookshop and bought a KJV. I remember reading "authorised version" and i thought to myself that must be the one, don't want an unauthorised version :lol:. I was soon pointed in the way of a more contemporary version . The old KJV got damaged when i took it to work as i was a painter and decorator at that time.

As a child, I would go with my mom to our local Christian bookstore (Hackman's) and I would amuse myself by looking at the variety of Bibles: big, small, large print, and microscopic print. When I was 13 or 14 I finally got to buy the one I wanted: a small (almost notecard sized) NIV Bible in blue leather and a snap closure.

I used that Bible on and off for the next 30 years. I added a study Bible in high school and, in the last decade, an electronic Bible. I "don't have it" anymore as my daughter claimed it a couple of years ago .

I went to SS at a local FWBC as an early teenager and got a personalized gift KJV Bible with the iddy biddy print. If I recall correctly, that was my first Bible.

My first Bible I purchased was a compact NASB 95 (at the time it was just NASB). I was using an esv student study Bible that my parents had gotten me before that, but a lot of people had said that the NASB was apparently the “most accurate” so I wanted to get one. I switched back to ESV for a variety of reasons and haven’t looked back.