Which Harder: Pastoring/Shepherding Small Church vs. Large Church?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thistle93

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi! First of all I know this is a bit of a generalization which can never be exact and there are different dynamics to each church but just curious what people (primary looking for pastors) think is a more difficult task, pastoring/shepherding a small church or a large church and why you think so? Also any personal experiences would be welcome.

I know that natural inclination would be to automatically say a large church because more responsibility/people but I tend to think a small church may be harder.
Not that large churches don't have difficulties, just different ones.
Full disclose I am a pastor of a small rural church, so I may be somewhat bias.

Now here are a few reason I think being a small church pastor is harder. 1)Limited resources (both people and finances) 2) conflict (if a family gets angry and leaves much more a burden on church than large church) 3) change (seems that small churches are more hesitant to reform. If one family wants to block change much easier in small church) 4) often times discouraged pastors and congregation (given low amount of growth) 5) (People more likely to go to a church already well established then go to a small struggle church and seek to help build it up.)

Probably could list a few more but this should suffice. Again I know these are somewhat generalizations and do not mean to demean the struggles/hardships of those pastors in large churches. I also know there are many advantages to pastoring a small church.

Thoughts?

For His Glory-
Matthew