Who is Josh McDowell?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harrie

Puritan Board Freshman
A classmate of me often talks about Josh McDowell. Who is he and what do you think of his work? Should I read it?

He's a big time apologist/evangelist in evangelical circles. Much "bigger" in the '80s and '90s than today. His two big works are "More than A Carpenter" and "Evidence That Demands a Verdict."

They are both decent works in themselves. I found them to be excellent resources when I was a youth pastor. The kids really liked to see that there is evidence to support their beliefs.

I had the opportunity to hear him speak when I was in college back in the late 70's early 80's. Campus Crusade brought him in as an evangelistic tool and his talk about "Evidence that Demands a Verdict" was very good.

He also shared his testimony about how he was dead-set on disproving Christianity and, how, in the process, God saved him.

Bob

Paul, is that a picture of you?

By the way... Ole Josh isn't about [i:6240c4d963]arguing[/i:6240c4d963] for Christianity... He's in the business of [i:6240c4d963]proving[/i:6240c4d963] it! :p

[Edited on 4-29-2004 by SolaScriptura]

I am torn on the issue of "evidentialists" making an attempt to demonstrate that people can trust the Bible by showing evidence, both internal and external, that demonstrates it to be divine in orgin. For the most part, people like Josh McDowell make some good points (although usually from an arminian perspective).

However, a major problem with "evidince" that proves the bible to be true, causing the sinners heart to break down into repentence is this:

[b:363ed89015]Luke 16:31[/b:363ed89015] "He said to him, 'If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead.' "