Why are you a Baptist?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Herald

Administrator
Staff member
Philip A recently began a thread titled, "I, too, am no longer a Baptist." Philip's reasons are his own and I won't discuss them here. As a wise sage once said, "You gotta do what you gotta do." But Philp A. did get me thinking. When I joined the PB I choose the screen name "Baptist in Crisis" for a reason. There was a time when I thought I was losing my Baptist distinctives. I thought the only recourse for me was to become Presbyterian. And while I will never say "never", the last 18 months have done more to solidify my Baptist leanings then my doubts did to weaken them. My eyes were opened when I studied what pre-20th century Baptists believed. I realized how Dispensationalism and Arminianism had hijacked the majority of Baptist churches. I suppose you can say that I understood, for the first time, what it meant to be a real Baptist.

Here is the reason for this thread. I am interested in hearing from the Baptist's on the PB that are confident in what they believe. I want to know a few things: 1. Have you ever struggled with your Baptist beliefs? 2. What were those struggles? 3. Do you still struggle with some of them? 4. Why do you remain a Baptist? For me the answers are: 1. Yes. 2. Dispensationalism, Arminianism and post-modernism with the church. 3. Yes. The minority of Baptist churches that have forsaken Dispensationalism, Arminianism and post-modernism. 4. Mode of Baptism, administration of Baptism (who should be Baptized), ecclesiology and church polity.

Okay Baptist's. What say you?

1. Have you ever struggled with your Baptist beliefs? Yes, my first struggle was trying to understand what a "Baptist" believed...

2. What were those struggles? Fundamentalism (the negative connotations), anti-Intellectualism, pietism, legalism as well as the stuff you mentioned.

3. Do you still struggle with some of them? oh, yeah

4. Why do you remain a Baptist?