Wine or Grape Juice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Swampguy

Puritan Board Freshman
I don't see the big deal. Does it have to do with the amount of fermentation? I worked in the wine industry for several years and one thing you learn is all, I mean all, grape juice has a certain amount of alchol or fermentation. Fermentation begins when the grape begins to ripen and just keeps going unless checked. But even that Welch' Grape Juice has a trace of alcohol and fermentation. So what is the big deal about using one or the other or both?

Wine is what Christ instituted, and now commands us to partake in. Who are we to change it?

It is a slippery slope to allow grape juice instead of wine. What's next, Pizza and Pepsi?

:2cents:

Originally posted by Jeff_Bartel
Wine is what Christ instituted, and now commands us to partake in. Who are we to change it?

It is a slippery slope to allow grape juice instead of wine. What's next, Pizza and Pepsi?

:2cents:

It makes you feel warm inside.

Originally posted by joshua
Originally posted by Jeff_Bartel

:ditto:

My Baptist church uses Welch's® Signature Series Communion Juice from fresh 100% pure grape concentrate squozen by the good New England yankees at Welch's.
:bigsmile:

Too be serious for a change, sometimes I think the rigid formalism either way is bothersome... Christianity is not about pomp and ritualism. Wine can considered be wine at any stage of fermentation... Focus on the significance and purpose behind the communion ordinance and not the alcohol percentage per volume. I know a pastor that said he would use wine, but around in his area it might be a cause for someone grumbling and presumably people that don't mind wine are less likely to complain about not having wine. I gladly use wine and would if I were pastor.

In final appeal, what does the Apostle Paul say about what we eat and and drink, and the weaker brother? Enough said. This is just as relevant to communion as anything.