Words

Status
Not open for further replies.

rgray

Puritan Board Freshman
I am new to PB and a little nervous about posting, especially theologically weighty or difficult material. I read one of the "sticky" classic Posts entitled "The PB is NOT an obscure corner of the internet" and it got me thinking about our words.

The issue for me is permanence. When I say something privately to my wife as I wrestle through issues, the words are somewhat impermanent. When I am speaking in a small informal group the words are more permanent. When I speak formally to a group and it is not recorded it is more permanent still.

But recording and writing leave permanent impressions (literally). And generally take a lot of time and prep. in order to be precise, truthful, and charitable.

Where does posting on this website fit? I realize that no matter what, we must speak truth with love... but what if I'm wrestling through that truth with all of you and in dialogue I "miss-speak"? Unlike wrestling in my theology classes, which are verbal, there is a permanence here...

How have you all wrestled with this issue?

Thanks,

It definitely requires more care. I often try to post things I'm wrestling with in a forum that is not viewable to the public, so as not to possibly confuse non-PB members with my ignorance.

It definitely requires more care. I often try to post things I'm wrestling with in a forum that is not viewable to the public, so as not to possibly confuse non-PB members with my ignorance.

This is a dumb question I'm sure but, how do I know which ones are viewable and which are not viewable?