World of Warcraft

Status
Not open for further replies.

T.A.G.

Puritan Board Freshman
I do not know much about the game, do you think Christians should play it (that is of course if they have taken care of the most important things)?

Other than getting addicted to it (which many people do), and it becoming an idol. I couldn't say it is, unless you have issues with video game magic and video game mythology. I suppose its a Christian Liberty issue.

Disclaimer: I may be biased, as I work in the video game industry (Programming Lead).

I'd treat video gaming, like anything else that is highly addictive with a sense of caution. I know brothers I work with who have had struggles with video games and they are extremely cautious before they play a game. Then there are others like myself who have never had a major issue with games.

MMOs like World of Warcraft have another layer of danger because they reward the players who spend hundreds of hours playing them as they never end, and there's a social/peer pressure component to it.

Just be aware of all these potential dangers, and make sure that you are not being mastered by it. But if you are able to keep it in its proper place - be thankful to God that He gives us things like games for our enjoyment in this fallen world.

I used to play online games, such as World of Warcraft, when I was still an unbeliever. My own experience was that rather than me controlling and benefitting of the game, the game engulfed me and filled its appetite. When it comes to Christian Liberty, I always remember what John Piper said:
Don't ask, "Am I permitted to do this as a Christian?" Instead ask, "Am I a slave to this act? Is this food or drink or sex or hobby or work becoming my master instead of my servant?"