Would you like to accept Jesus into your heart?

Status
Not open for further replies.

WaywardNowHome

Puritan Board Freshman
Up here at college, we have a reasonably sized group called the Christian Fellowship (made up of both believers and nonbelievers). We meet regularly 3 times a week for prayer meetings, worship, sermons, Bible study, etc. However, the group is interdenominational without a strong stance on non-essential-for-salvation theological issues. Every week, a guest speaker from a nearby church (NYC / NJ area) is invited to come and preach. Since we aren't really affiliated with a denomination, these speakers vary in their theology and sometimes they teach false things (mostly synergism in salvation).

A lot of the speakers are very Arminian in their thinking. They say things like, "You need to choose Jesus" or "Accept Him as your Savior" and they like to use the Revelation 3:20 heart-door, "Ask Him into your heart." I've been attending this group for nearly 2 years and I have yet to see a preacher who was founded on the doctrines of grace and God's absolute sovereignty in salvation (although one time they almost got Tim Keller!). Because of this, a lot of the group's membership (especially the younger brethren) is growing in Arminianism.

What is the Biblical way to bring these people to the knowledge of Reformed soteriology? I've tried to offer Calvinistic views on various Bible passages during Bible studies (which are basically student-led discussions on a topic) and some of them have responded positively but I have yet to actually sit down with any of the members and discuss soteriology bluntly. I don't necessarily think that Arminianism is a damnable heresy but my heart breaks every time I hear "I asked Jesus into my heart" or "I accepted Jesus as my Savior."

This has been bugging me for a while and I just don't know how to go about it in the right way.