Yet another seminary thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

zsmcd

Puritan Board Freshman
I plan on attending seminary (MDiv) using my GI Bill after I am done serving in the Navy. I have been on the fence concerning infant baptism and ecclesiology for almost a year now and am currently a member of a calvinistic Southern Baptist church. I have been discerning a call to pastoral ministry for a few years now and have had it confirmed by a number of different elders/pastors (PCA and SBC). My trajectory is to pastor a church somewhere in the "bible belt" where I believe there is an enormous need for healthy churches. With that said I am struggling on where to attend seminary and would love some feedback...taking into account my background.

- Because I am using the GI Bill I am not entirely concerned about price.
- I am looking to attend somewhere in the south east near family (Tampa, FL & Charleston, SC)
- My suspicion is that if I attend a Baptist school I will end up a Baptist....if I attend a Presbyterian school....well, you get it.
- I do have a family...will probably have two kids by the time I attend.
- I have a strong desire to study languages and would not mind rigorous course work. (in fact prefer it)
- I would like the school to be accredited so that if I wish, I could carry on my education to a further degree.

My current top three are as follows:

1 RTS Orlando
- close to home (in between SC and Tampa)
- Nicole Institute of Baptist Studies but also confessionally reformed
- would be able to be influenced by both sides of the Baptist/Presbyterian debate
- not entirely to rigorous, or so I have heard
- family "campus" housing

2 Greenville PTS
- close to Charleston
- rigorous coursework (four year MDiv)
- not accredited (con)
- would most definitely end up a Presbyterian
- no campus housing?
- great price
- GI bill only pays for three years of school (would have to pay for fourth year)

3 Southern Seminary
- not close to home