FAITH What Is It?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeff D

Puritan Board Freshman
This word Faith is one I'm presently studying. While it can be said to be a very big part of the foundation that defines Christianity, there seems to be a great deal of misunderstanding of it among Christians.

It's mentioned some 95 times in the OT. 273 in the NT.
Romans & Hebrews lead in the number of times mentioning it. Hebrews 11:1 gives us a clear definition of it.

Am I wrong when I get the sense that Paul's use may give at times a nuance to the definition found in Hebrews ?
I see that it is listed as a feminine noun but it's use at times seems to resist this classification?

I'm dealing with some that believe faith is power that at a certain level can make things happen. Such as healing. Which most of us here know is not Scriptural.
It is my belief that a Scriptural understanding of this word is of the greatest importance. I'm hoping to increase my understanding of it. So that I may more readily communicate to others.

Keeping in my mind my prior questions, I ask what is Biblical based Faith ? Please give scripture to back any point made.

His faithful & loving servant, standing in His truth, only by His grace....Jeff D

Understanding the Scriptural definition of faith is near and dear to my heart. I've learned that the definition of the kind of faith that is important, the kind that is imputed or credited to us as righteousness, is described in Romans chapter 4, the final key text being v.21. I find that the phrase "faith is..." in Heb. 11:1 describes characteristics of faith more than it provides a definition of faith. A few later verses in chapter 11 do discuss the same kind of faith as Rom. 4:21 though.

Here is a post I did sharing a personal study I wrote on what is faith. Scriptures are provided. And here are 2 posts I did in a recent thread with the same understanding of faith from a slightly different angle. post #4 - post #10.