Questions on Liturgy

Status
Not open for further replies.

matthew11v25

Puritan Board Sophomore
I am new to studying this. I understand the need for order in corporate worship, but what constitutes what the liturgy is for corporate worship? what scripture is used to support the use of liturgy? Can liturgy be a simple as or have an order similiar to...

PRAYER
SINGING
SCRIPTURE READING
SERMON
BENEDICTION
(that may be similiar to reformed baptists)

I have always been in evagelical churches, so I am not used to corporate worship that goes...

PRAYER
SINGING
PRAYER
SINGING
PRAISE
SINGING
SCRIPTURE READING
SERMON
SINGING
BENEDICTION

If there are any articles that are helpful I would love to read them or threads.

[Edited on 7-13-2005 by matthew11v25]

Liturgy is planned worship. It's what one does on a regular basis. When we say a church is "liturgucal," usually we mean that the structure of the service is very, even highly, structured, down to special recitations by leaders and people. And there will often be more "ritual" in such services. Sometimes that only means weekly Communion, but usually there's more to it than that.

One's theology (belief) should "create" or inform his worship (practice). If it doesn't, then eventually the way one worships (liturgy) will end up "teaching" error. That's just the nature of the beast. Do it right, or you will end up in wrong thnking.

Resources:
Terry Johnson, Leading in Worship
Joe Morecraft, How God Wants Us To Worship Him
Greenville Seminary's Conference series on Worship has good stuff too

Matthew:

How a service is ordered reflects one's theology. Typically, Reformed view corporate worship as primarily a meeting of God with His Bride. So, in essence, it is a transaction in which the minster, representing God (and sometimes the Bride - he has a dual role) does things on behalf of God, while the Bride interacts with the Father. The OPC Book of Church Order describes the typicalyt Reformed perspective this way: