Tim Keller's article about the composition of the PCA and its future

Status
Not open for further replies.
Heard this stuff before. Didn't buy it then, don't buy it now. Keller would be classified as a R-e. So he tends to disparage what he calls the R-h's and R-c's by making up strawmen.

For what it's worth, he would have more credibility if he didn't quote Neibuhr. He would have done better by quoting Bultmann :p

Was he quoting Niehbur as theologian or as cultural observer? I didn't like his throwing my church in the same basket as Willow Creek, but I forgive him!(Sigh!)

Okay my original post was rather stupid so I'll put something mildly intellectual in it's place:

some seminaries like Greenville and Westminster in California are deliberately trying to produce R-h´s and R-c´s

Though I am not a member of the PCA I am a graduate of WSC. With the word 'deliberate' he makes it sound like a conspiracy, but everyone knows that WSC (and GPTS) is confessional/historical. That's why I went here in the first place! And just for the record, Westminster is definitely not R-c and I am going to assume that Greenville isn't either.

[Edited on 4-28-2005 by poimen]

[Edited on 4-28-2005 by poimen]

Originally posted by turmeric
Was he quoting Niehbur as theologian or as cultural observer? I didn't like his throwing my church in the same basket as Willow Creek, but I forgive him!(Sigh!)

Actually it was Intown Atlanta. Definitly R-e to use Keller's classification. If you want to see the multiplication of R-e churches come to Atlanta.

I don't find myself fitting completely in any of the three categories, except for maybe a mix between the R-c and R-h, but definitely not the R-e. I imagine I am not alone in this.