Abortion and the UK

Status
Not open for further replies.
The most sad thing is that virtually nobody in the UK actually opposes it. At least in the US there is strong opposition to murder of the unborn; over here, by way of contrast, hardly anybody even cares.

This practice has been going on for decades. It is nothing new. When I was a student nurse (20 years ago) I refused to work on the women’s ward because I was fully aware that miscarried or aborted babies were simply dumped in the trash! Some (if small enough) were just flushed down the sluice. If they are put in the bags labelled ‘clinical waste’ then obviously they are going to be incinerated along with everything else.

What baffles me, is the hypocritical reaction to this behavior. When a baby (up to 28 weeks gestation) is murdered, nobody actually cares what happens to that child. (This article is a bit misleading I think. It primarily speaks of miscarried babies, yet the headline is ‘aborted babies’.) I don’t suppose a woman who has just aborted her baby (and certainly not the medical staff who killed it for her) is going to protest that she didn’t get the chance to give him/her a proper burial or that it was treated as clinical waste! However, when a woman miscarries a baby of the same gestational age or younger, everybody is up in arms about the disgusting way in which these babes are treated. As a nation, we cannot have it both ways. Either all human life is counted as precious or we quit the double standards.

Why should a hospital treat a miscarried baby differently to an aborted baby? The fact is, we have decided, as a nation, that unborn babies are of no value whatsoever, unless ‘subjectively’ given that value by their mother. One cannot protest against a 13 week old miscarried baby being incinerated whilst supporting other women in their ‘choice’ to murder (and as such, discard their baby as worthless trash) their 13 week old baby.