Eerdmans publishes pro-Mormon book

Status
Not open for further replies.

RickyReformed

Puritan Board Freshman
http://www.eerdmans.com/shop/product.asp?p_key=0802828760

The book was authored by a Mormon 'scholar'.

Here's a letter by Kerry Kinchen, pastor of Bridgeway Bible Church, to Eerdmans:

As Senior Pastor of Bridgeway, I have some Eerdmans published books in my office library, but I won´t be buying anything published from Eerdmans anymore.

It is not a cliché when one contends earnestly for the faith that was once for all delivered to the set-apart ones. It is a mandate. On the other hand, it is a cult who contends earnestly for the faith once for all delivered by a con-man leader "” and such is a shame. Robert Millet´s A Different Jesus? (now published by Eerdmans) is exactly the shame I am talking about.

I am a pastor who exposes the obvious fact that Mormons do not worship the same God, nor the same Jesus that saved people worship. Mormonism is a brain-washing cult whose apologists avoid the real issues in debate and writing. Only direct and unwavering cross-examination with the uncomfortable facts gets them to address the issues they typically avoid. Then once they give their seeker-sensitive answers, you must relentlessly cross-examine again, and again. Otherwise, you´ll think they believe in the same Jesus that you do.

Your recent endorsement of Millet´s apologetic is beyond a decent word. Frankly, I am livid with shock. Mouw´s endorsement means nothing and does not let you off the hook for your actions. The man is incompetent as an apologist of the faith, and no office he holds is a badge that demonstrates otherwise. Do you think we are fools? When I first started following Mouw´s postmodern notion of dialogue with the leaders of that particular cult, I realized quickly that Mouw´s bizarre affinity for "œcommonality" would be used by Mormons as a way to sweep their core beliefs under a rug (momentarily). It has happened. You are party to the crime.