Explaining Calvinism to loved ones?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gordo

Puritan Board Freshman
Hey chaps! For the first time this weekend I was able to discuss Calvinism/Reformed Theology with my wife. She was not very receptive to the say least. The discussion ended with "I'll believe what works for me and you believe what works for you."

Her main points of dispute were;

1. Why evangelize if God has already predestined the elect and reprobate?

2. Why do so many Christians say that God loves everyone and offers his salvation as a free gift to accept. What's the point if they are not elected to God's grace?

I went on to explain as best I could. I am new to Reformed theology so I listened and quoted some verses, but overall could not answer her questions. I remember reading somewhere that the current contemporary view that people have to accept Christ is un-biblical. If anyone could offer some advice that would be great.

It also doesn't help that we attend a Baptist church where the preacher today was using many lines about free-gifts and accepting the gift, etc.

Thanks!!

1. God uses evangelism as the means to bring about His ultimate purpose, the salvation of His elect.
2. There are two calls in the offer of salvation - 1) the general call, which is to all men that they need to repent of their sins and place their faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. 2) the effectual call, which is God actually calling His elect to salvation. Men can and often do resist the first call. The elect cannot resist the effectual call for it is a work of God. If we could resist and overpower God's will, then that would make us God.

Is your wife a reader? Perhaps she would enjoy R.C. Sproul's classic, Chosen by God. In fact, if you haven't already, I would strongly encourage you to read it yourself first, and then pass it along to her.