Help...Resources for Worship Liturgies

Status
Not open for further replies.

sdesocio

Puritan Board Freshman
I am a pastor and church planter in the PCA, working through the order of worship for a new church. I'm not trying to reinvent the wheel, and I would like to incorporate historic patterns in our worship practices. By this I mean order the parts of the service in a way incorporates historic prayers and responses.

Does anyone know of any good books with examples of different liturgies or orders of worship. The only thing that I have found that seems to be close is the Worship Sourcebook. Books or websites would be very helpful.

I believe that Bryan Chapell's new book, Christ-Centered Worship, offers some examples of what you suggest. I haven't read it though, so I can't comment on the appropriateness of all of them.

You also might look at the church websites of many of the people on this board or of other Reformed churches to look at examples of their bulletins.

Bard Thompson, Liturgies of the Western Church
Terry Johnson, Leading in Worship
Hughes Oliphant Old, Leading in Prayer
Book of Common Prayer

Resources from MARS

While not all of these books have outlined liturgies and order of worship to follow I think they could be helpful. I just started taking a Liturgics (first day was today!) class at Mid-America and the course texts are as listed:

*Tremper Longman III "Immanuel in Our Place"
*Samuel Miller "Thoughts on Public Prayer"
*Hughes Oliphant Old "Worship"
*Philip Graham Ryken "Give Praise to God"
*Abraham Kuyper "Our Worship"
*Various Authors (Christian Focus Publications) "The Worship of God"
*Westminster Directory of Public Worship
*Robert Rayburn "O Come, Let Us Worship"
*D.G. Hart/ Muether "With Reverence and Awe"

I personally have read much of Longman, Old, Hart/Muether, and The Westminster Directory and would highly recommend them.

Also I believe a more historical approach (Lutheran author) is Frank Senn "Christian Liturgy"