How much to be considered "Reformed"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

WaywardNowHome

Puritan Board Freshman
(Please forgive me if this thread is in the wrong place. I'm still learning my way around here!)

Ever since 2 years ago, when God in His grace opened my eyes to the doctrines of grace, I've been listening to a lot of sermons by men who are associated with the Reformed movement, including Johns Macarthur and Piper and James White and Paul Washer. I find myself standing firmly on the 5 points of Calvinism and I don't see how the God of Scripture can be seen in any other way. That's about as far as I thought Reformed theology went.

Since joining PB, I've been reading a lot about different issues, including the regulative principle of worship, various eschatological matters and material related to various Confessions. My question is, how much does one need to agree with in order to be considered "Reformed"?

Welcome Joel from the Home of Tenth Presbyterian PCA! Being a 5 Point Calvinist is where many of us started in our Reformed Journey however Calvin taught more than just the 5 points in his Institutes and other writings. He taught a Covenantal view of our relationship with God which Presbyterians such as myself believe includes Paedobaptism (Infant Baptism). He taught that how we worship God is important and that God has given us the way He desires to be worshipped in His Word. He also taught that we are to live out our Faith in the public sphere and influence the Culture for Christ. In other words the fleshing out of our Faith in our families, our vocations, and in the Church flows from a Heart which has been redeemed by God through His effectual calling and Grace.