Modern Psalter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChristopherPaul

Puritan Board Senior
I am relatively new to Psalm singing being that I am only 2-1/2 months into the only reformed church I have ever set foot. Plus I believe even my current PCA church does not use a Psalter of any sort, just hymns.

My question is, why are there no modern Psalters composed to contemporary styles of worship? Groups like Jars of Clay, David Crowder Band, and Shane and Shane have released songs based on certain Psalms, but not to the level that a genuine Psalter will accurately compose one.

Has this ever been proposed? What would be the reasons against such an endeavor? From my ignorant understanding, there is no biblical mandate stating that if instruments are used in song they must be driven by pipe organs and the like.

This question applies to hymns as well, although I am seeing more and more traditional hymns set to modern music these days, but not as much with Psalms.

Curious...

Most Reformed churches that use Psalters primariliy or exclusively do not use instruments, so it would make little sense to put them to 'contemporary' or 'upbeat' tunes. The object is to have the tune match the content of the song as closely as possible and also be as easy to sing as possible, 'staying out of the way' of those attempting to worship God in spirit and truth.

That makes sense and is admirable. However, even without instruments, the Psalter could be modernized, could it not? I just got my first Psalm CD the other week (His Mercy Fills the Earth from C&C) which is entirely a cappella; however, I have a difficult time understanding what is being sung because of the style.

Originally posted by Plimoth Thom
Every Presbyterian church which I've been to, uses the Trinity Hymnal, which includes psalms.