OT Baptism vs. NT Baptism

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBaldwin

Puritan Board Post-Graduate
We just started studying John's Gospel on Sunday mornings, and so I have spent a little time studying on my own. In the course of my study on chapter 1, I've read commentators who keep referring to OT baptisms. Other than saying, washing, cleansings, etc. none of the commentators would elaborate.

As I studied further I got to thinking about John's baptism and the baptism in the NT. So here are my questions:

1. What is/are OT baptism(s)?
2. What, if any, connection is there to NT baptism?

While I explored this topic years ago, I had very little understanding of reformed or covenant theology at the time. Can anyone in here enlighten me?

There is the passage in Hebrews which refers to the "diverse washings," which is referring to a type of "baptism" (because of the the Greek word used). The following context describes the various blood sprinklings as indications of what the author has in mind. The purity rituals and cleansing from sin is probably what is mind, the difference being that the blood of animals cannot take away our sin, but only the shed blood of Christ.