Problems with laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poimen

Puritan Board Post-Graduate
Okay. So I was stupid... I spilled tea on my laptop. :mad: It shorted out and wouldn't turn back on. When it dried out, however, I was able to get it to work except for some keys on the keyboard. So I need to replace it. Do you think it is possible for me to be able to purchase a new one somewhere (on the internet) and then replace it myself or is that too complicated? I am fairly good with computers but I have never worked with a laptop before.

Any advice? (And no I don't want to send it in to be fixed because then I am without a computer for 7-14 days).

[Edited on 7-14-2005 by poimen]

If you are using your laptop as a laptop then I can not really help you, but if you keep it in the same place all the time a short term solution (at least) is buying one of those cheap USB keyboards.

You will find that if you just clean the circuit board that the keys touch when pressed it will be ok. I have never taken a laptop apart sorry.

search ebay -- often times you'll find laptop keyboards salvaged off old laptops...

you can hook up a regular desktop keyboard to the laptop using either your usb port or your ps2 keyboard/mouse port.

If you have any important data on your laptop take this experience as a providential reminder to devise a backup scheme -- either burning data to cd periodically or using a large external usb hard drive to back up your data to.

R

I have a new keyboard which I will install, however I broke the plastic clasp that holds the cable in place.

smilie_what_the.gif

Does anybody know the technical name for this piece and where I could purchase it?

[Edited on 8-19-2005 by poimen]

This is almost funny to me so you might get a chuckle out of it: