Reformed Voluntarism

Status
Not open for further replies.

arapahoepark

Puritan Board Professor
I am curious: where do the Reformed stand on Voluntarism? It has been awhile but I recall a conversation (via email) with a former PB member who was an Amyaldrian and yet held strange views...one of which seemed to be that God didn't define good but did what was already good and gave very bizarre examples. I believe this conundrum is voluntarism (do correct me if I am wrong). What are the Reformed views on this?

I am curious: where do the Reformed stand on Voluntarism? It has been awhile but I recall a conversation (via email) with a former PB member who was an Amyaldrian and yet held strange views...one of which seemed to be that God didn't define good but did what was already good and gave very bizarre examples. I believe this conundrum is voluntarism (do correct me if I am wrong). What are the Reformed views on this?

I think there is a variety of thought on this. I'm no expert by any means, but I would side with Bahnsen on this:

It is highly interesting to me that Gordon Clark, for instance, oscillated between voluntarist and necessitarian tendencies. It is actually a subject I have already written a little about and plan to more on at some point.

I think there is a variety of thought on this. I'm no expert by any means, but I would side with Bahnsen on this:

It is highly interesting to me that Gordon Clark, for instance, oscillated between voluntarist and necessitarian tendencies. It is actually a subject I have already written a little about and plan to more on at some point.
So is voluntarism saying that God could arbitrarily change his mind while the necessaritian says God forbid it because it is already wrong?
And Bahnsen says neither are correct but everything emerges from the goodness of God?

So is voluntarism saying that God could arbitrarily change his mind...