SBTS vs. RTS

Status
Not open for further replies.

sarjasy

Inactive User
Looking for some advice/recommendations. This is my first post, so I'll also introduce myself a bit. I'm currently a student at Southern through their extension site in Northwest Arkansas, enrolled as a M.A.T.S student. Not sure what my exact goals are at this point, but I love theology and writing and would perhaps, someday, like to teach and maybe do some writing. I work full-time, have a mortgage, a family, etc. so relocation is not an option for me at this time. Because of my academic leanings and geographical constraints, I'm a somewhat drawn to RTS's distance M.A.R. which seems to be a little more academically and theologically oriented when comparing the programs side-by-side. A Google search also turns up more M.A.'s from RTS than Southern at academic institutions and sites. My questions are:

1) From what you know, would RTS (as opposed to Southern) be viewed as more academically rigorous?
2) If so, is that factor offset by the fact that for me, the RTS MA would be done largely by distance whereas most of my MA from Southern would be completed face-to-face (via extension and intensive courses), in that distance courses carry a stigma in certain circles?
3) Put simply, which of the two degrees/schools do you think would have more utility in academic circles?

Other factors for me is that RTS is more expensive (I'm Southern Baptist and get the discounts at SBTS) and the RTS MA is 60 hours vs. Southern's 48 hours.

I truly appreciate any thoughts or advice!

Jason

I was an M.Div student at Jackson but am now trying to change to the M.A.R. thing on virtual.

1) From what you know, would RTS (as opposed to Southern) be viewed as more academically rigorous?

Not necessarily. It really depends on the class and the professor. The apologetics and ethics classes via RTS virtual were tough (but fun!)