Adultery and the CFW 24.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

GillespieWestminster

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello, I am studying the thinking of Westminster theologians about the punishment for adultery, first of all I want to remind you that I subscribe to CFW 1646 (received by Scotland in 1647). In that sense, note this quote:
Marriage once lawfully contracted, may not be dissolved at man’s pleasure, as our master Christ Jesus does witness, unless adultery is committed; which, being sufficiently proven in presence of the civil magistrate, the innocent (if they so require) ought to be pronounced free, and the offender ought to suffer the death as God has commanded. If the civil sword foolishly spares the life of the offender, yet the church may not be negligent in their office, which is to excommunicate the wicked, and to repute them as dead members, and to pronounce the innocent party to be at freedom, be they never so honourable before the world. If the life is spared (as it ought not to be) to the offenders, and if the fruits of repentance of long time appear in them, and if they earnestly desire to be reconciled with the church, we judge that they may be received to participation of the sacraments, and of the other benefits of the church (for we would not that the church should hold those excommunicate whom God absolved, that is, the penitent).” (The First Book of Discipline, 1560)

Samuel Rutherford:
“The English Divines do well observe,That adultery is a capitall crime to be punished by the Iudge, Gen. 38.24. Levit. 20. 10. Deut. 22. 22”. (Samuel Rutherford, A free disputation against pretended liberty of conscience tending to resolve doubts moved by Mr. John Goodwin, John Baptist, Dr. Jer. Taylor, the Belgick Arminians, Socinians, and other authors contending for lawlesse liberty, or licentious toleration of sects and heresies, p.313)

George Gillespie: