ex sda

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi brother, I was a SDA. I rejected it after I was told I had to be baptised in the name of Ellen White. It was good to debate the pastor for a while. But this took an emotional toll: a classic sign of brainwashing

I'm not ex-SDA, but I was raised in another cult, and in the aftermath of leaving I studied groups like the SDA to a limited extent.

From what I gathered the SDA does not literally pronounce words like "I baptize you in the name of Ellen G. White" (although, like any cult, I suppose it's conceivable there might be some extremist fringe groups that do). Nonetheless, some would contend that such happens in a de facto sense.

In any case, EGW was actually very insistent that the Trinitarian formulary be the spoken words upon baptizing.

Last edited:
Who are they I never heard of them
The Wiki article does a fair job describing the history and main beliefs of the man and his followers. Here's a briefer summary of beliefs. Their numbers are relatively small in North America and Europe (probably less than 15,000), but through intense targeted evangelism they have proliferated in places like Latin America (500,000+) and especially Africa (likely 1,000,000+).

Baptised in the name of Ellen white what do you mean
How long were you sda
I had to confess her teachings as inspired, and that she was a prophetess of God, or no baptism. I even asked to be baptised only in Christ, or the Trinity, depending on preference, but the pastor insisted that I had to confess Ellen White first.
I was never formally an SDA as in being a member of the church. It was the first church I went to after conversion, since it was nearby.
I ended up debating with the pastor for about four weeks about theological issues. And eventually, since I had not much of a scriptural foundation, I was essentially brainwashed into believing the churches teachings.
I wasn't precise enough: yeah that previous comment could be easily misunderstood.