Francis A. Schaeffer

Status
Not open for further replies.

baron

Puritan Board Graduate
Well just received my 5 volume set. It's paperback wish it would of been hardcover though. Paperback is easier to read in a car though. I think I will start with volume 3 which has No Little People, True Spirituality, The New Super-Spirituality, Two Contents, Two Realities. Any one else order the set?

I got my set back in 1982. Hardcover, multicolored. I saw FAS at a L'abri conference that June in Rochester, MN. Ahhh, the memories. :)

My mum bought me a set in the mid 80's for my b-day. I was a student at a fundy school then & I read the entire set one year & it changed my life. I was introduced to reformed writers via FS & went to L'abri in Mass a couple of years later.

Yea I ordered the set when it went on sale at CBD and started with vol 1. I blew through the God who is there and was very pleased with FS writing on philosophy and orthodox christianity. His insights were historically accurate and theologically dealt with in a way that was profound. I think that FS's insight into cultural trends is a necessity for us to deal with the things we are currently confronted with in our day and age. I personally love the guy.

I got my set back in 1982. Hardcover, multicolored. I saw FAS at a L'abri conference that June in Rochester, MN. Ahhh, the memories.

I have the multi-colored set as well. Although, mine are all paperback except for volume three. I have no idea why that is, but that is how it came.

I may not agree with Francis Schaeffer at every single point, but he is still, by far, my favorite apologist. He wasn't some mere ivory tower intellectual; he put the rubber to the road, and his money where his mouth was. I admire him for that, and know many were changed by his ministry.