Is it ok to change vocations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timmay

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm not too well versed in the doctrine of vocation, but my understanding is one should probably not switch vocations. I'm a video editor now, but for the past 3 years or so I've felt this immense desire to get out of that field and be involved in academics some how. As this desire has increased, my desire to do video work has eroded almost simultaneously. But I'm not sure if I'm supposed to stay in the same field at the time in which God saved me.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Did Peter remain a fisherman and did Paul always make tents? If you're referring to 1 Cor. 7:17-24, don't forget 21:

Were you called while a slave? Do not be concerned about it; but if you can be made free, rather use it.

Certainly you want to be responsible in pursuing another job, honoring God. You should always be content, even when pursuing another job, since God may close other doors. You may even be surprised what doors are opened that you didn't expect.

I don't know when I was saved. What vocation should I then stick with? ;)

I thought I read that Luther said to stay put. I dunno, just trying to cautious and wise. A vocation change would be time spent retraining and starting over instead of making my current skill set better.

I sure hope so, as I did just that 18 months ago.

But to address your question directly, I don't think that is an accurate view of the doctrine of vocation. Although, surely there are times when one could switch vocations for sinful reasons.

And Mr. Luther himself didn't necessarily "stay put", depending on how one defines that.

A sailor does not jump ships in a storm. If there is no storm then use the peace and calm to evaluate.There are commitments, family etc to consider, but to have job satisfaction is a tremendous blessing.