More letters from prisoners

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaurieBluedorn

Puritan Board Freshman
Here is a letter we recently received from a prisoner. He is studying to get a seminary degree.

Dear Ms. Laurie,

Hello to you and Mr. Harvey! Thank you very much for the logic textbook. I received it Thursday and I began work on it immediately. It appears I have my work cut out for me. Thank you for The Thinking Toolbox and The Fallacy Detective as well. I’ve already given my set away and I have the other waiting on a young brother in the Lord whom I think will benefit greatly from it.

I feel led to share a little about myself with you. I am currently serving a life sentence for murder. Alcohol, anger and an altercation can have a deadly outcome. I’ve been in prison for five years now reaping the consequences of my sins. I grew up in ___ where I graduated high school in 2000. I served in the [one of the armed forces] out of high school until I was honorably discharged in 2004. I did odd jobs like security work until I was hired in 2006 by ___. I was doing the job in ___ when my crime happened.

Because of my worldly success I was a cocky, arrogant, self-righteous guy. I was so far away from God. I went out to a club on ___ and I woke up the next day in jail charged with murder. The guilt and shame of my actions was an unbearable weight on my shoulders. I was crushed under my sin. I didn’t eat for weeks. I only wanted to die to escape myself. I cursed God, blasphemed God, and blamed God. But God didn’t give up on me. One day, with the help of the Holy Spirit, I cried out to God and He saved me from myself.

I want you and Mr. Harvey to know that you are helping one of the least in God’s kingdom. My sin is still often before me, but because of my great forgiveness, I have a great love for Jesus. I have a long way to go and I thank you for helping me to get there. Pleas let me know if there is anything I can do to bless you. God bless.

Love in Christ,
K. D.