Need help with reading list.

Status
Not open for further replies.

raderag

Puritan Board Sophomore
I have seen Matt's reading list (books to buy before paying rent). Honestly, I would probably be homeless, and couldn't work if I were to pursue reading that list. :)

Anyway, I would like to compile a reading list to educate myself in several disciplines. (not in any specific order)

Western Civilization
Church History
Philosophy
Near Eastern Ancient civilization
World History
Systematic theology
Devotional reading.

I have a college degree in engineering, and have done a fair amount of reading on my own, but I can hardly be considered educated compared to many here at PB. I have taken classes or read books in almost all or these subjects, but other than theology, I have not fully explored them. Even with theology, I have only fully read a handful of books (I have skimmed and referenced hundreds of books).

I would like everybody to give me 3-5 suggestions from each category.

How many books are appropriate to read in a year if I can devote say 4 hours/week to reading books? I have never had an organized reading list, but with my limited time, I desperately need one.

[Edited on 4-30-2004 by raderag]

Let me name a few of works that will probably not be named by others on this board.

Philosophy: The Christian God by Richard Swinburne

Systematics: Reformed Dogmatics by G. H. Kersten

Near East : Ancient Orient and the Old Testament by Kenneth Kitchen

Church History: The History of the Church from Christ to Constantine by Eusebius

World History Reflections on the Revolution in France by Edmund Burke [it is a foundational document to understand the christian reaction agaist the enlightenment]

[quote:39e42960b2][i:39e42960b2]Originally posted by yeutter[/i:39e42960b2]
Let me name a few of works that will probably not be named by others on this board.[/quote:39e42960b2]

Thank you. I haven't read any of those.