Our Daily Bread

Status
Not open for further replies.

D.L. Arter

Puritan Board Freshman
This thread is not a devotional, but rather, me asking about a mail-order devotional that a lot of people in my area are utilizing. I have very little knowledge of it and I haven't picked up a copy of it, but the few people that I've spoken to about it defends it as if it were Scripture--to the extent, that when I point out that no devotional should be elevated to the level of Scripture (even if it has you read from the Bible), they tend to get really defensive and a little exasperating.

The devotional in question is Our Daily Bread and I've done a little bit of research, but their website isn't very helpful. Their doctrinal statement is what I would consider to be generic evangelical and I don't recognize anyone on their board of directors. Does anyone have any knowledge of the organization, what the devotionals themselves are like, and whether they're worth their salt or not?

I won't be much help to you, but I have known people who have read them and seem to like them. I have albums of instrumental hymns that they have made over the years, and they are absolutely amazing. Extremely good quality musicianship, along with reverent, classical sounding songs that are very well done. I would definitely recommend the music, but I don't know about the booklets.

I used to see those devotional books around here and there years ago. Our Daily Bread has been around for many, many years, but I don't know anything about the history of it. Probably a typical product of Big Eva, I suppose.

I had completely forgotten about Our Daily Bread. When I was a kid, my family used to read out of it after supper. That was maybe 15 years ago. I don’t know if it has improved.