Record Player

Status
Not open for further replies.

OPC'n

Puritan Board Doctor
I've been wanting to buy a record player for awhile now. I was amazon trying to decide which one to get. As I read the reviews, I learned I have NO idea what they are talking about. Do any of you know anything about record players who can tell me which type to buy for the records that will play on them? Seems like in the reviews you have to have certain needles for certain record....:confused:

One of my room mates is a huge vinyl fan and his collection and turntable are in the living room. I'll try and convey some thoughts from him later on.

I can't recommend any of the new brands or models as I dont know whats out there now.
I can tell you that back in the day when I worked in the industry,
That there were hundreds of different types of needles to fit the hundreds of record player brands.
They had saphire and diamond needles (diamonds lasted longer) and they would work on the playing speed.
A playing speed of 33 was common for albums, smaller singles were 45 (a bit faster)
All needles worked on either type of speed so no problems there.

78's for gramophones were just a steel pin (looked like a nail and would last for ages)

If you were close to KY I'd give you one. I seem to aquire old radios and ...acquired an older console cabinet radio/ record player that my wife is telling me I must get rid of.

This post might be helpful.

Keep in mind that if you buy (only) a turntable, you'll also need an amp or receiver to plug it into as well as speakers. Is your goal to just listen or do you want to make mp3 files from the vinyl?

This post might be helpful.

Keep in mind that if you buy (only) a turntable, you'll also need an amp or receiver to plug it into as well as speakers. Is your goal to just listen or do you want to make mp3 files from the vinyl?