Seminary Professors

Status
Not open for further replies.

CatechumenPatrick

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi all-
Here's a question I've had for quite a while and I'd appreciate any thoughts. In my undergrad and now in my grad work (at public universities), I've been surprised at how easy it is to meet with and communicate with professors. Many devote entire days to meeting with students, and many of the grad students go out to eat or drink with professors (including professors visiting to present a paper), in public and at house parties. It amazed me, when I was an undergrad and first realized this, that you could find the e-mail of almost any professor, ask them a question, and they would almost always (in my exp in philosophy) respond. I've had long and short discussions with a good number of philosophy professors I’ve never met, even though many of them are extremely busy and get 10-100 e-mails a day.

Yet there seems to be an opposite phenomenon with seminary professors (at least those without blogs et al—thanks Prof. Clark!). I've had many questions for professors of theology but I've never been able to figure out how to contact them. In fact, some of my close friends and relatives at various Reformed seminaries have, or currently are, experiencing the opposite of what I described in the previous paragraph: they cannot get a word with most professors at seminary, and, in fact, any communication outside of or unrelated to class is treated as brown-nosing and is often looked down upon. Now I'm not claiming these, nor my own, experiences are universal or even typical, but the fact remains that I at least can find no way of contacting most seminary professors (and it seems to me that they should be the most willing to be contacted, given that they are serving the church and it is the church who needs them, not just their students).