Why do you follow what you do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Edm

Puritan Board Sophomore
All of the talk recently about the Sabbath has made me wonder. I agree that trying to keep the Ten Commandments are what God wishes. Now, I am nowhere near where I would like to be in my Christian growth, I'm still new to reformed theology, so please take this as an honest question. Do you try to keep Gods other Old Testament laws? I understand why we don't sacrifice animals..that's not the question, but the others like haircuts,tattoos, what you eat etc. Why or why not? There may be a verse in the New Testament that deals with this, but I am not familiar with it yet. Again, honest question. Just trying to learn.

The standard answer to your question would be that there is perceived to be a threefold division of the law. The civil law, which applied to national Israel, the ceremonial law, which applied to temple sacrifices, and the moral law, such as the ten commandments. Most Christians today would argue that the civil law no longer applies because we do not live in national Israel and that the ceremonial law no longer applies because the temple sacrifices have been fulfilled in Christ. That leaves the moral law which is eternal and unchanging. Distinguishing between the three can occasionally be tricky, but in most cases it is fairly obvious.

Hi Ed,