Continuing Education for Pastors

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pete Williamson

Puritan Board Freshman
By God's grace, I've been pastoring full-time for 12 years now. I do a lot of reading - theology, history, biography, leadership, etc. - but I feel like it would be very beneficial for me to go back to school. So I've been considering the DMin degree because it seems best suited for someone engaged in full-time ministry. I prefer spending time in an actual - as opposed to virtual - classroom, both to have opportunity to interact with the professors as well as to build relationships with the other students. I also see it as a way to strengthen my résumé for teaching opportunities, such as in short-term missions. Looking at what's out there and considering the needs of the church, I'm leaning toward a degree that includes a healthy portion of church history.

Having said all that here are my questions for you, particularly those who have pursued further education:
  1. Is the DMin program worth it or are there better degree programs for continuing ed?
  2. Aside from the big-name schools (Westminster, RTS, TEDS, et al), what are some other schools worth considering?
  3. What are my options for reducing costs? Are there scholarships or grants for pastors pursuing continuing ed?
Looking forward to your response. Thanks in advance.
pete

If you're interested in programs that can offer solid directed reading/writing to expand your knowledge there are some free (or very cheap) seminary programs you could look into. How important is the classroom time for you?

If you're interested in programs that can offer solid directed reading/writing to expand your knowledge there are some free (or very cheap) seminary programs you could look into. How important is the classroom time for you?

I value the ability to interact in real time and face-to-face, but it's not absolutely vital. What do you have in mind?