Keeping the Sabbath With Others

Status
Not open for further replies.

frog

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm fairly new to the practice of Sabbath keeping and have been keeping the Sabbath alone. But I would like to find a way to draw others from my church into the spiritual blessings and delights of the Lord’s day. Have you got any advice on how I can do this outside the context of public worship? How do you keep the Sabbath with others as a market day for the soul?

I would like to host a lunch and have others over but I'm not sure what activities to do? I'd like to provoke spiritual conversation and prayer, but some times people seem more interested in speaking on other matters (such as their hobbies) or in playing board games.

You're always welcome to visit the Sydney (AUS) congregation of the Free Presbyterian Church of Scotland!

I would like to host a lunch and have others over but I'm not sure what activities to do? I'd like to provoke spiritual conversation and prayer, but some times people seem more interested in speaking on other matters (such as their hobbies) or in playing board games.
We attend an NCT/Prog. Cov. Baptist church where this dynamic is ever-present. We have found enormous blessing for ourselves and our fellow members in regularly hosting/organizing lunchtime gatherings after church. That would be my #1 suggestion. Invite people over regularly - maybe even a standing invitation for anyone to join. We have done that in the past. Make a concerted effort to discuss the sermon and other spiritual things. Ask your brothers how you can pray for them. Share what you've been reading and what the Lord is teaching you in your private and family devotions. Ask them the same. Frame this all as service in your own mind.