Linux for Non-Geeks and Technophobes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christopher Robin

Puritan Board Freshman
If you're anything like me, technology has become scary. A true technophobe, I was not anxious to try out Linux until there was no alternative but to either spend a zillion and twelve dollars on a Mac, or to spend a mere billion and twelve dollars for a new computer that could run Windows® without slowing to a crawl.

So I looked at a few of the Linux distributions because you can try it out without making any changes to your computer, using a "Live" copy of almost any Linux distribution (hereafter called a "distro"). So far, the absolutely most technophobe-friendly Linux distro, perfect for complete newbies who only want to point-and-click their way through stuff without having to use the dreaded terminal is Linux Lite. It's free, open-source, nimble, fast, and best of all simple, even on modest hardware. It has become my "daily driver" at home. It's used to keep older but perfectly good computers running in schools, and to give grandparents a simple way to keep up with their extended families without having to resort to squinting at a tiny cellphone screen.

Don't toss that old computer that can't run Windows or Mac anymore. Check out Linux Lite and message me if you need any help with it!

Thank you, Robin! I will keep this in mind. My husband ***loved**** Linux (he was a chatterbox and it was one of his favorite topics). I had always been meaning to give it a try, but never got around to doing that (I'm a technophobe myself so anything I'm not familiar with I don't want to touch). But I may have to finally give it shot one of these days! (My laptop here appears to be on it's last legs... was considering getting a backup as I may have need of it very soon!).