Logos Bible Software 3?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Broadus

Puritan Board Freshman
I've been using BibleWorks for a few years now, currently using version 7. However, I've been looking at utilizing more e-books and commentaries. I have e-sword, but it is somewhat limited.

At any rate, I've seen the rave reviews about Logos. I've considered it over the years but never pulled the proverbial trigger. What are the thoughts of forumites here? What about the particular Logos products, e.g. Leader's Library and Scholar's Library (plain, silver, and gold)? While there are many books which do not interest me, there are many that do and more that can be added. I suspect there are public domain works that can be added to the lot, also.

Also, any idea when the version 4 may be coming out? I wouldn't want to buy it only to have to pay an upgrade fee a few months from now.

Thanks much,
Bill

Dear Bill,

For languages, you're fine with BW. Logos has made up much of the gap, but not exceeded BW. What you will find, however, is that the library interaction and cross referencing capabilities are without comparison. I don't have BW, and probably won't get it because Logos does such a great job with both the library and languages.
If you can afford it, I'd recommend going all the way. There is (or at least was) a pastor discount, so give them a call.
As for the next version, you could ask them. They offer discounts on upgrades though, so I wouldn't be too concerned. And their update feature keeps you up to speed on the basic programming and any font changes. The change to the Hebrew font a few years ago was definitely helpful.

Hope that helps.