Polity of Continental Reformed churches

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me Died Blue

Puritan Board Post-Graduate
Does anyone have any information to offer, or perhaps articles to recommend as well, regarding the historic and current polity of Continental Reformed churches?

While I am interested in the broad issue in general, including historic and current practice within any particular Continental Reformed churches, I am particularly curious about how Dutch Reformed polity compares with Presbyterian polity.

Chris: You would find Paradigms in Polity helpful. It is a collection of essays relevant to your topic. If you don't want to buy it, get it through interlibrary loan (the key to all knowledge :) ).

Originally posted by Scott
If you don't want to buy it, get it through interlibrary loan (the key to all knowledge :) ).

Scott,

What is the interlibrary loan? I am interested in tapping into the "key to all knowledge" as well.

I am no expert, but here are a couple differences I have observed:

1. If I recall correctly, In CRC polity, the teaching elder is a member of the congregation as compared to Presbyterianism, where the teaching elder belongs (has membership) to the presbytery.

2. Ruling elders in Presbyterianism are ordained for life unless they are divested of the office or demit their eldership. If I recall correctly, in Dutch Reformed polity, ruling elders are only ordained for a specific term of office.

3. If I recall correctly, related to #1, in Dutch Reformed polity when a classis meets they do not celebrate the Lord's Supper or have a worship service as you might find at a presbytery meeting.

4. If I recall correctly, the Dutch Reformed subscribe their standards without exception.

My memory might be a little foggy, so I am open to correction.

[Edited on 1-4-2006 by AdamM]