Resolve salvation of elect and 1 Tim 2:4/Jn 3:16?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bond-servant

Puritan Board Sophomore
Through my studies, I believe now in the salvation of the elect through Christs redeeming work as opposed to what I was brought up with:
"Christ died to make a way for ALL people if they should choose it"

As of now, my only unanswered questions is how to resolve that although the covenant was for the *chosen*, that
1 Timothy 2:4, says : the God desires ALL men to be saved , not just the elect. Similar, John 3:16, for God so loved the WORLD, (not simply the elect)

Please help me resolve this. If there was a precious thread directly addressing these verses, I missed it, and am sorry for the repost of topic.

thanks again for helping a "quickly reforming, used to be baptist"! LOL :pilgrim:

Newbie here.
I was told that "all " and "World" are figures of speech. And there are other scriptures where this is evident.

John 3:16 God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

A.W. Pink in his book The Sovereignty of God does an excellent word study on kosmos (world) and it's various connotations in the New Testament.

1 Timothy 2:4 Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth.

All does not necessarily mean all and all without exception. In 2 Peter 3:9, for example, all is qualified by toward us, the appellation beloved which is reserved for the elect and the salutation to the epistle in 2 Peter which is clearly addressed to a body of believers.