How do you PB well?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeholland

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm a PB newbie--all of a month.

But to be quite honest, all of the great material on this bb is gloriously intimidating. I could spend countless hours enjoyably reading old stuff much less participating in active conversations.

I was wondering how some of you PB veterans, especially pastors, balance your time reading and participating in the conversations here as to not infringe on other more important callings that God has placed on your life (ie sermon prep, pastoral duties, family, having a life)? How has the PB helped and informed your ministry? Has it had any negative effects you've had to correct?

Any counsel would be much appreciated.

Like all the internet, or other good things, you need to discipline yourself. The PB is like a big phone call. You can come in and out of the conversation any time.

I do not internet at the office. A good thing. Others can do that, and keep the PB in the background, and seldom pop in during work hours. Or type real fast, get in and out in 2 minutes.

At home, you need to prioritize. Don't let the PB dominate. It needs to be about #15 on a list of 20 things. I say this as one who has said far too many times: "I'll be right there, as soon as I'm finished typing!" Not a good priority. Few internet-thoughts are more important than your wife or kids, or mowing the lawn, or doing dishes, or having family devotions. But it is a big temptation to finish the thought. Or finish reading.

I 'PB' as a break in sermon prep when my brain is tired.

And I begin replies to all sorts of threads, then stop myself and hit 'delete'. THAT is an important thing to be able to do when it comes to managing self and time.

We tend to type some things we would hardly ever say in person.